Mehbooba Mufti Sworn-in as Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister

Ending political uncertainty in Jammu & Kashmir after the death of former CM and Mehbooba’s father


Mufti Mohammed Sayeed, People’s Democratic Party President Mehbooba Mufti on April 4, 2016 became the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu & Kashmir as she formed a coalition government with BJP in the state. Apart from the CM J&K Governor N.N. Vohra adminis¬≠tered the oath of office to 22 ministers, 11 each from alliance partners PDP and BJP at the Jammu Raj Bhavan. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Nirmal Singh was sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Minister, a post he held during the previous BJP-PDP government led by (late) Mufti Sayeed.

Mehbooba who took oath of office and secrecy in urdu, is the 13th Chief Minister of the state and second muslim woman to become the Chief Minister of an Indian State. Syeda Anwara Taimur was the first muslim woman CM in Assam in 1980 to 1981.

BJP’s share in state Cabinet increased this time from six to eight berths. Former J&K Chief Ministers Farooq Abdullah, his son Omar, Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu, Jitendra Prasad and Harsimrat Kaur were present in the oath ceremony.

One thought on “Mehbooba Mufti Sworn-in as Jammu & Kashmir Chief Minister

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *